



Formal sitting of the Court of Justice

Partial renewal of the Court of Justice and entry into office of new Members of the General Court

By decisions of 8 November 2023, 27 March 2024 and 2 October 2024, the representatives of the governments of the Member States of the European Union renewed the term of office of five Judges of the Court of Justice, namely Mr Constantinos Lycourgos, Mr Jan Passer, Mr Thomas von Danwitz, Ms Ineta Ziemele and Mr Andreas Kumin, for the period from 7 October 2024 to 6 October 2030.

By decisions of 22 May 2024, 3 July 2024 and 2 October 2024, Mr Bernardus Smulders (who replaces Ms Alexandra Prechal), Mr Massimo Condinanzi (who replaces Ms Lucia Serena Rossi), Mr Fredrik Schalin (who replaces Mr Nils Wahl), Mr Stéphane Gervasoni (who replaces Mr Jean-Claude Bonichot), Mr Niels Fenger (who replaces Mr Lars Bay Larsen) and Ms Ramona Frendo (who replaces Mr Peter George Xuereb) were appointed as Judges of the Court of Justice for the period from 7 October 2024 to 6 October 2030.

By decision of 27 March 2024, the representatives of the governments of the Member States of the European Union renewed the term of office of Mr Jean Richard de la Tour, Advocate General of the Court of Justice for the period from 7 October 2024 to 6 October 2030.

By decisions of 27 March 2024, 3 July 2024 and 2 October 2024, Mr Dean Spielmann (who replaces Mr Anthony Michael Collins), Mr Andrea Biondi (who replaces Mr Giovanni Pitruzzella) and Mr Rimvydas Norkus (who replaces Mr Priit Pikamäe) were appointed as Advocates General of the Court of Justice for the period from 7 October 2024 to 6 October 2030.

By decision of 2 October 2024, Mr Hervé Cassagnabere (who replaces Mr Stéphane Gervasoni) and Mr Raphaël Meyer (who replaces Mr Dean Spielmann) were appointed as Judges of the General Court for the periods from 7 October 2024 to 31 August 2025 and 7 October 2024 to 31 August 2028, respectively.

On the occasion of, first, the departure from office of Mr Lars Bay Larsen, Ms Alexandra Prechal, Mr Jean-Claude Bonichot, Mr Peter George Xuereb, Ms Lucia Serena Rossi, Mr Priit Pikamäe, Mr Nils Wahl and Mr Anthony Michael Collins, and, second, the taking of the oath and entry into office of the new Members of the institution, a formal sitting of the Court of Justice of the European Union will take place today.

The formal sitting will be broadcast live from 17:00 on the following site: <u>CURIA - Streaming - Court of Justice of the</u> <u>European Union (europa.eu)</u>

Presentation of the new Members

Mr Bernardus Smulders: CURIA - Presentation of the Members - Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)

Mr Dean Spielmann: CURIA - Presentation of the Members - Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)

Mr Massimo Condinanzi: CURIA - Presentation of the Members - Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)

Mr Fredrik Schalin: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u> Mr Andrea Biondi: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u> Mr Stéphane Gervasoni: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u> Mr Niels Fenger: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u> Ms Ramona Frendo: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u> Mr Rimvydas Norkus: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u> Mr Hervé Cassagnabère: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u> Mr Raphaël Meyer: <u>CURIA – Presentation of the Members – Court of Justice of the European Union (europa.eu)</u>

Unofficial document for media use, not binding on the Court of Justice. Press contact: Jacques René Zammit @ (+352) 4303 3355.

Stay Connected!

